fbpx

知识产权是企业发展的关键

知识产权是国际上正式承认的一种投资类型。当国际投资条约来定义什么是知识产权时,有的条约提到了资产这个词。

这正是大公司和小公司应该明白的道理:知识产权是资产的一部分。而恰恰与他们想要刺激和保护的其他种类资源一样,知识产权也应该得到同样的待遇,甚至是更强的待遇。在工业化国家,知识、创意、创新等无形资产,正在取代土地、资本等传统的有形资产。

电子商务的出现,缩短了距离,为已经全球化的世界做出了巨大的贡献;它缩小了地域限制和限制的概念,使位于欧洲的品牌商很容易决定在海外打广告和销售产品。在这种情况下,东盟国家和中国是意大利企业决定出口的好地方。

 

但是,什么是知识产权,为什么保护知识产权如此重要?

公司可能感兴趣的知识产权主要有:

版权声明

版权的目的是保护原创性作品(如书籍、绘画、歌曲、电影、录音等)。版权的目的是给予作品作者有限的时间保护,其范围是激励和保护知识产品及其背后的创造力。需要区分的一个重要问题是经济权利(作者利用其作品获取经济利益的专有权利)和精神权利(将作品创作者与其作品联系在一起的人身权利),还需要记住,精神权利更多的是在大陆法系国家而不是英美法系国家得到承认。版权制度赋予作者防止他人复制其作品的权利,只要有一定程度的独创性,公众就可以自由地对已有的产品进行新的安排,并在保护期满后有限制地使用作品。

商标

商标是为了保护企业选择被公众所认可的标志。商标制度的范围是为了保护和捍卫商品和服务的来源,以及企业与顾客建立的信任关系,使顾客能够从另一生产者的商标中识别出属于生产者的商标。注册商标的作用是为了防止他人使用商标而造成公众对商品来源的欺骗和混淆。

专利权

专利制度是加强和保护创新的好办法。当有了新颖性、创造性和工业应用的要求(产品或工艺必须是新的、非显而易见的、能够工业应用的产品或工艺)时,专利制度就赋予了国家对发明人的发明专利权,给予发明人垄断权。垄断权的期限视管辖范围而定,允许专利权人对该发明进行公开,还可以通过许可或转让给第三方来获得报酬,防止他人未经专利权人同意而制造、进口或提供相同的发明。为了换取垄断权,专利权人向公众公开该发明,专利保护期满后,公众将成为产品的最终受益者。

商业秘密

商业秘密通常是专利的替代品。公司并不总是热衷于公开自己的技术和创新,可能会选择保守秘密。当然,这种保护制度有利也有弊,因此,这对企业来说是一个至关重要的战略决策。他们不会被授予产品的垄断权,但不公开,避免承担别人复制相同产品的风险。

一个公司在利用上述每一类知识产权保护其业务时,可能会有利益关系。通过版权,他们可能要保护数据库、计算机汇编、计算机程序、软件;通过商标,他们要保护自己的企业名称、标识、显著标志、品牌本身;通过专利和商业秘密,他们可能要保护自己的技术,如软件和算法、不同行业的各种问题的创新解决方案、化学配方、医药产品等。

因此,企业首先要注意的是,企业需要一个知识产权管理系统,以确定哪种知识产权适合自己的需要,并根据具体的行业和期望达到的目标,采取什么样的战略才是最好的。一些企业仍然低估了知识产权的价值,失去了确保市场地位和在竞争者中脱颖而出的机会。知识产权是全球化经济中竞争力的关键,即使是小企业也应该认识到它的重要性,因为它是通过许可协议或销售来获得现金流的重要来源,而投资者在决定投资时,更多的是看重受保护的资产。

 

企业如何保护自己的知识产权?

需要指出的一个重要方面是,知识产权保护具有地域性。这意味着,为了在不同的国家保护和执行知识产权,公司必须在每个寻求保护的国家有不同的有效注册。需要考虑的一个方面也是相关国家的具体法律和经济状况。特别是,东盟国家处于不同的发展和经济阶段,因此,每个国家所寻求的知识产权保护的具体要求也不尽相同。

虽然有一些国际知识产权条约对知识产权保护的国际层面进行了规范,但每个国家都有自己的知识产权保护制度,尽管世界各国的基本要求和原则基本相同。版权不需要注册,而一个标志必须要注册才有商标,一个创新产品必须要注册专利。因此,请当地的知识产权专家向具体的知识产权局提出申请,了解程序和时间安排,并根据所涉及的国家和行业给出具体的建议,对外国公司来说是非常有帮助和好处的。

归根结底,值得注意的是,知识产权国际框架的作用是为了帮助在不同国家开展业务的利益相关公司。例如,《商标注册马德里议定书和协定》、《专利合作条约》等条约的实施,使各组织可以在多个国家提出单一申请,寻求保护,而《保护工业产权巴黎公约》、《保护文学和艺术作品伯尔尼公约》等条约则为每个成员国必须给予其他缔约国公民的权利和原则奠定了基础。

 

开始吧

如果您想获得免费咨询,请填写下面的表格,我们将与您联系。

fbpx

Intellectual Property as a Key for Business

Intellectual Property Rights are internationally formally recognized as a type of investment. When international investment treaties come to define what an IPR is, some of them refer to the word asset.

This is exactly what small and large companies should understand: intellectual property rights are part of the asset. And exactly like other kinds of resource they want to spur and protect, IPRs deserve the same treatment, or even a stronger one. In industrialized countries, intangible assets such as knowledge, creativity and innovation, are replacing traditional and tangible assets such as land and capital.

The advent of e-commerce has been reducing distances and making a huge contribution to an already globalized world; it has been scaling down the concept of territorial limitations and restrictions, making a brand owner located in Europe easily decide to advertise and sell their products overseas. In this context, ASEAN countries and China are good places where an Italian company may decide to export their businesses.

 

But what are Intellectual Property Rights and why it is so important to protect them?

The main IPRs that a company might be interested in are:

Copyrights

Copyright is meant to protect original works (such as books, paintings, songs, movies, sound recordings, etc.). Copyright aims to grant the author of the works limited-in-time protection, with the scope to incentive and protect intellectual products and the creativity behind them. An important distinction to be made is between economic rights (the exclusive right of the author to exploit their work for economic benefits), and moral rights (personal rights that connect the creator of the work to their work), and it is also relevant to remember that moral rights are more often recognized in civil law rather than in common law countries. The copyright system entitles the author to prevent the others from copying his works, leaving the public free to make new arrangements upon an existed product so long as there is a certain degree of originality and to have illimited access to the works when the duration of the protection expires;

Trademarks

Trademarks are meant to protect the signs that companies choose to be recognized by the public. The scope of the trademark system is to conserve and defend the origin of goods and services, as well as the trusted relationship that companies have built up with customers, allowing them recognizing a mark as belonging to a producer from that of another. The effect of a registered trademark is to prevent others from using a mark which may cause deception and confusion among the public about the source of the product;

Patents

Patents are a good way to enhance and protect innovation. When there are the requirements of novelty, inventive step and industrial application (the product or process must be new, non-obvious and capable of industrial application), the patent system gives the State the power to grant a monopoly to the inventor over his inventions. The monopoly has a duration depending on the jurisdiction and allows the patent owner to make us of the invention, with the additional option to be rewarded by licensing or assigning it to third parties, preventing others from making, importing or offering the same invention without the patent’s holder consent. In exchange for the monopoly, the patent holder discloses the invention to the public, which will be the ultimate beneficiary of the product when the patent protection expires;

Trade Secrets

Trade Secrets are often an alternative to patents. Companies are not always keen on disclosing their technologies and innovations, and might rather opt for keeping them secret. There are of course advantages and disadvantages of this protection system, and it is, therefore, a crucial strategic decision for a company. They will not be granted a monopoly over the products, but they do not make them public, avoiding taking the risk that someone else might reproduce the same product.

A company may have an interest in protecting its business making use of each category of the above described IPR. By copyright, they may protect the database, computer compilation, computer programs, software; by trademarks, they want to protect their business names, logos, distinctive signs, the brand itself; by patents and trade secrets, they may want to protect their technologies such as software and algorithms, innovative solutions for every kind of problems in different industries, chemical formulas, pharmaceutical products, etc.

The first and main thing a business should thus be aware of is that it needs an IP management system in order to identify which kind of IP suits its necessities and what is the best strategy to adopt according to the specific industry and goals it expects to reach. Some companies still underestimate the value of their intellectual property, losing chances to ensure a stronger market position and stand out among competitors. IP is the key to the competitiveness in a globalized economy, and even small businesses should recognize its importance since it is a significant source of cash-flow through licensing agreements or sales, and investors look more often at protected assets when coming to the decision to invest their money.

 

How can a company protect its IP?

A crucial aspect to point out is that IP protection is territorial in nature. This means that to protect and enforce IP rights in distinct countries, companies must have different valid registrations in each country where they seek protection. An aspect to take into consideration will be also the specific legal and economic situation of the country of interest. In particular, ASEAN countries are at different development and economic stages and therefore the specific sought IP protection in each of them will be different.

Although there are some international IP treaties that regulate the international dimension of the IP protection, each country has its IP protection system, even though the fundamental requirements and principles are pretty the same all over the world. Copyright does not need for registration, whereas a sign must be registered to have a trademark, and an innovative product must be registered as a patent. That is the reason why to have a local IP expert who files an application to the specific IP Office, knows procedures and timelines, gives specific advice in relation to the country and industry involved is an invaluable help and benefit for foreign companies.

Ultimately, it is worth noting that the IP international framework comes into play to help companies with interests in conducting business in different countries. For example, the implementation of treaties such as the Madrid Protocol and Agreement for trademark registration and the Patent Cooperation Treaty (PCT) allows organizations to file a single application seeking protection in multiple countries, whereas treaties such as the Paris Convention for the Protection of Industrial Property and the Berne Convention for the Protection of Literary and Artistic Works set a basis of rights and principles that each member State must grant to citizens of other contracting countries.

 

Get started

If you want to get a free consultation without any obligations, fill in the form below and we'll get in touch with you.